Felix Dennis Mad Hatter Party

Vintage Tea Sets got the call last week to provide the crockery to a party being put on by Felix Dennis just for the hell of it.  Until last week I had no a clue who Felix Dennis was but after googling him  (I don’t google my clients as force of habit!  It became clear he was/had been in the news) I have to say I began to feel a bit nervous.

The Venue! see the rabbit hole!

The Venue! see the rabbit hole!

Felix Dennis is the man responsible for the time delay on live broadcasting, he said an unmentionable word that had the BBC reeling along with the nation and in the process went down in a little bit of history.  But Felix Dennis is far more interesting than that, the mans a ledgend, he was part of the Oz Trials (far too interesting to condense, really go an have a look) and went on to become a selfmade billionaire.  I actually met him last night….

The white rabbit and lovely Alice

The white rabbit and lovely Alice

(amongst Alice, the Mad Hatter and the White Rabbit) and chatted for a few minutes (I was setting up the cake stands etc by the area he slipped out regularly to smoke) and he really does live up to his reputation as being mad as cheese.   I discussed Wales with him bizarrely enough (don’t ask) and to be honest like most of what he says its unrepeatable and he said ‘that’ word in my poor mam’s presence, she nearly passed out and I thought once again of the live airing time delay and felt privileged to have heard it first hand.

When guests arrived this was all beautifully lit

When guests arrived this was all beautifully lit

There was a Lord in the party amongst other very interesting individuals, but Dennis kept popping out the back to see us all, have a fag and thank us all, in amongst numerous expletives.  His last words to me were “You worked very hard”, “Thank you” I said somewhat taken aback (was he just guessing?  who knows) to which he replied “I know, I’ve been told……I KNOW” and then he sauntered back into the party in the most enormous mad hatter hat hugging Picol the lady in charge of catering on the way.

Little mini deserts on my vintage plates

After Ads Mum and I packed up we drove down the track to leave and we found him by the entrance helping a worse for wear individual remove his jelly like self off the path so as not to getting wedged under our tyres, we all started to wave at him afterwards  not sure quite what to do or say and he waved to us very enthusiastically which had us in fits of giggles.  I’ll blog more about the setup of this party and all the incredible props, it was a very late job but an Alice in Wonderland themed party thats got everyone involved with it very excited.  Here’s just a few pics to whet your appetite.  It was a brilliant job where met some wonderful people, we went away very tired but buzzing.  The man does command respect, people shake in their boots around him but you can see he’s got a very good heart, does a hell of a lot for charity.

Handpainted decks of cards

Handpainted decks of cards

Me outside the rabbit hole entrance!

Me outside the rabbit hole entrance!

Earl Grey!

Earl Grey!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Felix Dennis Mad Hatter Party

  1. Wow … well done … Looking forward to seeing more details … and have also been working on more of your pictures 😉

  2. Thanks Mithi! Cannot wait to see those little Deco Divas you’ve created, just need to download the rest of the pics and I’ll blog more on this party, it was really something else, opera singers, bands, performance artists and all props were made specifically for this party!

  3. Pingback: Mad Hatter Cake Stands for Vintage Tea Sets « Clarabows Blog

  4. Hi New Friends,
    It was so nice to meet you all on saturday ,a night to
    remember .Your company was a joy i’m glad I went .Your Blog is great Isla & I had a lovely time ,I told her all about you all .
    She Thanks you for all your tips & ideas.I did tell her one day we will all get together for a tea party ,you are always welcome to call in for aftenoon tea by the river seven if you are up this way & i’m sure your work will grow beautifuly.
    Life will work its Magic to make it possible see you soon i’m sure.
    love & Mad Hatter Moments
    Grace xx
    P.S…Can you please email me your photoes
    The one of Ade is Fab Your a good phtographer.
    I took a movie of Felix singing with Earl Gray to send him
    (He was so pissed I don’t know how he did it !!!!)
    Can I use your pic of Ade for promotion.

Leave a Reply

